Actions (Detail View)
Package: BASIC
1. General
In the detail view of a record, the upper area of the view contains a number of general actions that are available in most modules.
Detail view - general actions
The general actions include:
Exceptions here are special modules, such as Reports, Email accounts or also Templates. Module-specific actions are explained in detail on the respective pages of the Modules.
The actions available by default can be configured/edited in Global Settings - Organization management. New actions can also be created, in which the target modules and the values of the fields to be passed are defined.
Which actions are available for a user can be configured via the setting in the Profiles.
Actions for which a user has no permission are not shown to that user.
2. General actions
2.1. Subscribe
Detail view - Subscribe action
To be informed about changes to records made by other users, there is the “Subscribe” functionality.
There are two ways to subscribe to a record:
- “Subscribe” action icon in the detail view of a record.
- Mass subscribe action in the list view of a module. For detailed information on this, see the section Actions (List View) - Subscribe.
After clicking the “Subscribe” action icon (“star” icon), the “Notification options” popup window opens.
In the “Notification options” popup window, you can select how the notification should be delivered:
- Enable email notification → When records are changed, a corresponding email is sent by brainX (Note: In Global Settings - Company Information the Central Mail Server must be configured).
- Enable notification box → When records are changed, this is displayed in the Notifications.
After clicking the “Subscribe” button, the record is subscribed to.
A subscribed record can be recognised by the filled “Subscribe” action icon (“star” icon). For records that are not subscribed, the icon is empty.
To end a subscription, the “Subscribe” action icon (“star” icon) must be clicked again. The “Notification options” popup window opens.
The subscription can be ended using the “End subscription” button.
To change the notification options of a subscribed record, the “Subscribe” action icon (“star” icon) can likewise be used.
2.1.1. Notifications to Subscribers
Subscribers to a record are informed via the channels chosen in the subscription (email and/or notification) when
- fields of the record are changed,
- the record is deleted,
- a new comment is added to the record.
The email contains:
- the user who made the change
- the time of the change
- for changes: the changed fields with old and new value
- a link to the record (omitted when deleting)
The emails are generated via the system email templates “Record changed to subscribers” and “Record deleted to subscribers” (see Email Templates).
- Your own changes do not trigger a notification.
- Anyone who has subscribed to their own record is informed about new comments from other users.
- The subscription remains in place when the record is deleted.
- The email is sent as one message to all subscribers – in the language of the user who made the change. The notification in the system, on the other hand, is displayed for each recipient in their own language.
- Notifications to subscribers from Automations are still additionally possible.
2.2. Edit
Detail view - Edit action
After clicking the “Edit” button, the edit view of the record opens.
In the edit view, the “Edit” button is hidden and instead the “Save” and “Cancel” buttons are shown.
- Save → the changes made are checked and saved, after which the detail view of the record is displayed again (for the behaviour with incorrect entries, see below)
- Cancel → any changes made are not saved and the detail view of the record is displayed again
Incorrect entries when saving
If the validation of a field fails, the record is not saved. A message is displayed in the bottom left, the view automatically jumps to the first incorrect field and sets the focus in this field. If the field is in a collapsed block, the block is expanded.
This behaviour also applies in widgets and in settings forms.
Individual fields can also be edited directly in the detail view without opening the full edit view. This function is referred to as QuickEdit and is also available in the list view. For detailed information, see the section QuickEdit.
2.3. Comments
Detail view - Comments action
Overall, comments help to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of customer relationships.
After clicking the “Comments” action icon (“speech bubble” icon), the sidebar with the comments opens.
Detail view - Comments sidebar
The function is described in detail in the section Comments.
2.4. More actions
Detail view - more actions
By clicking the “Actions” action icon (“three dots” icon), a popup menu opens in which all actions available for this record are displayed.
more actions - flyout menu
For each record there are - in addition to the general actions - further module-dependent standard actions.
The standard actions are described in detail in the section Detail View Structure/Layout - Standard Actions.
2.5. View
Detail view - View action
Using the “View” action icon (“eye” icon), you can switch between views/layouts.
Setting a view as the default view and switching to a view are two independent processes: if a view is set as the default, the display does not automatically switch to this view. To switch to another view, it must additionally be selected separately.
2.6. Tag
The term “Tag” (plural “Tags”) comes from English and means “keyword” or “label”. Tags are used to categorise content and topics.
Detail view - Tag action
After clicking the “Tag” action icon, an input field is shown in which new tags are added.
Add tag
The “Public” toggle controls the display of the most frequently used tags and the visibility of new tags.
2.7. Additional information
If at least one field has been marked in the Global Settings in the module manager under the setting Layout - Additional Information, the field is not displayed directly in the detail view.
To display the fields, the “Additional Information” action icon must be clicked. After clicking the action, a sidebar opens in which all fields marked as “Additional Information” are displayed.
Detail view - “Additional Information” sidebar